The Premier Writing Organization On
California's Central Coast
Welcome to SLO NightWriters


Golden Quill Writing Contest

Winners and Finalists Announced in the 27th Annual SLO NightWriters 
Golden Quill Writing Contest

Congratulations to all entrants in the 27th annual SLO NightWriters Golden Quill Writing Contest! This year welcomed new and established talent locally, and from around the globe. The quality of writing was outstanding, making our esteemed judges’ task very challenging. We are pleased to announce the following top three winners and finalists in all categories.
Please join us for the Awards Ceremony at the SLO NightWriters General Meeting on November 14th beginning at 6:00 p.m. The winning entries will be read aloud by the author and all winners and finalists will be presented with their certificates and prizes. The address and directions to the location are below.
First Place                   Cate Touryan              The Auction   
Second Place              Nancy Bodily              Pain Management
Third Place                 Mary Beth Ellis           … And the Married Girl
First Place                   Hope Padalino            The Liberation of the Family Moto
Second Place              Rod Pound                  Earning the Urn
Third Place                 Patricia B. Ellson         The Night we Saved the Moon
First Place                   Laura Apol                   In My Next Life
Second Place              Sharyl Heber               Soldiers for a New Millennium
Third Place                 Linda Neal                   I Don’t Mean to be Melancholy

Communication With a Lost Soul Sue Andrews
Forgiveness = Liberation Patty Moreno
The Gift  Anna Allen
Theology of the Artichoke Christine Venzon
Incident in Managua: A Memoir of Liberation Adrianne Aron
The Poet President John W. Polonis
Turtle Liberation Penelope Anne Cole

The Prayer Nancy Bodily
Behind the Veil Shoba Sadler
Ezkaba Eva Garcia-Gonzalez
Finding Joy Adrienne Riley
Strip and Restore Margaret Duarte
The Last War Carlen Vigo
A Last Saturnalia Kathryn Mitchell Lucchese
The Dog Guy Scott Matthews
Social Work Kathryn de Lancelotti
St. Louis, 1950 Jeanie Greensfelder
Gaze Suellen Wedmore
Six Suites for Unaccompanied Cello Laura Apol
Quitting, Quitting, Quitting Finn Anderson
I Miss You Because You are Not Here (resubmitted) Diane Swan
At the Edge of the Cliff Patricia B. Ellson

All contestants and guests are invited to the Awards Ceremony on November 14th at the SLO NightWriters General Meeting, from 6:30 – 8:30 p.m. Please see address and directions below. The First Place winners in each category will be invited to read their winning entries. The top three winning entries will additionally be published in the SLO NightWriters Golden Quill Writing Contest webpage at and the SLO NightWriters Newsletter.
11245 Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo CA





Tia Araminta, Contest Director

SLO Nightwriters Golden Quill Writing Contest



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software